MENÜ MENÜ  

cover

Processing strategies of the auditory system for improving the detection of masked signals

Bastian Epp

ISBN 978-3-8325-2566-8
172 pages, year of publication: 2010
price: 35.50 €
The auditory system of mammals is a highly developed sensory system that facilitates the analysis and the communication in complex acoustical scenes. For the analysis of incoming sounds, the auditory systems makes use of a large variety of physical signal properties that are processed within various mechanical and neural processing stages along the auditory pathway. The scope of this thesis was to investigate processing strategies that contribute to the outstanding performance of the auditory system to detect signals in complex acoustical scenes. Using methods from psychoacoustics and signal processing techniques, it has been shown that a combination of coherent intensity fluctuations in different frequency regions and interaural disparities are processed in a highly efficient way. With the application of a physical nonlinear and active model of the cochlea, the basis was provided for separating contributions of mechanical and neural processing stages to the analysis of complex acoustical scenes

Das auditorische System von Säugetieren ist ein hochentwickeltes sensorisches System das die Analyse und die Kommunikation in komplexen akustischen Umgebungen ermöglicht. Zur Analyse von empfangenen Schallen nutzt das auditorische System eine Vielzahl an physikalischen Signalmerkmalen die in unterschiedlichen mechanischen und neuronalen Verarbeitungsstufen entlang der Hörbahn verarbeitet werden. Das Ziel dieser Arbeit war es, Verarbeitungsstrategien zu untersuchen welche zu der herrausragenden Fähigkeit des auditorischen Systems beitragen, Signale in komplexen akustischen Umgebungen zu detektieren. Mit Hilfe von Methoden der Psychoakustik und der Signalverarbeitung wurde gezeigt, dass kohärente Intensitätsschwankungen in verschiedenen Frequenzbereichen und interaurale Unterschiede hoch effizient verarbeitet werden. Mit der Anwendung eines physikalisch orientierten, nichtlinearen und aktiven Modells der Cochlea wurde die Basis geschaffen, die Beiträge mechanischer und neuronaler Verarbeitungsstufen zur Analyse komplexer akustischer Umgebungen zu trennen.

Keywords:
  • Gehör
  • Hörschschwelle
  • Akustik
  • Binaural
  • Cochlea

Buying Options

35.50 €

34.50 €
45.50 €
49.50 €

(D) = Within Germany
(W) = Abroad

*You can purchase the eBook (PDF) alone or combined with the printed book (eBundle). In both cases we use the payment service of PayPal for charging you - nevertheless it is not necessary to have a PayPal-account. With purchasing the eBook or eBundle you accept our licence for eBooks.

For multi-user or campus licences (MyLibrary) please fill in the form or write an email to order@logos-verlag.de

cover

Processing strategies of the auditory system for improving the detection of masked signals

Bastian Epp
ISBN 978-3-8325-2566-8
172 Seiten, Erscheinungsjahr: 2010
Preis: 35.50 EUR

Stichworte/keywords: Gehör, Hörschschwelle, Akustik, Binaural, Cochlea

The auditory system of mammals is a highly developed sensory system that facilitates the analysis and the communication in complex acoustical scenes. For the analysis of incoming sounds, the auditory systems makes use of a large variety of physical signal properties that are processed within various mechanical and neural processing stages along the auditory pathway. The scope of this thesis was to investigate processing strategies that contribute to the outstanding performance of the auditory system to detect signals in complex acoustical scenes. Using methods from psychoacoustics and signal processing techniques, it has been shown that a combination of coherent intensity fluctuations in different frequency regions and interaural disparities are processed in a highly efficient way. With the application of a physical nonlinear and active model of the cochlea, the basis was provided for separating contributions of mechanical and neural processing stages to the analysis of complex acoustical scenes

Das auditorische System von Säugetieren ist ein hochentwickeltes sensorisches System das die Analyse und die Kommunikation in komplexen akustischen Umgebungen ermöglicht. Zur Analyse von empfangenen Schallen nutzt das auditorische System eine Vielzahl an physikalischen Signalmerkmalen die in unterschiedlichen mechanischen und neuronalen Verarbeitungsstufen entlang der Hörbahn verarbeitet werden. Das Ziel dieser Arbeit war es, Verarbeitungsstrategien zu untersuchen welche zu der herrausragenden Fähigkeit des auditorischen Systems beitragen, Signale in komplexen akustischen Umgebungen zu detektieren. Mit Hilfe von Methoden der Psychoakustik und der Signalverarbeitung wurde gezeigt, dass kohärente Intensitätsschwankungen in verschiedenen Frequenzbereichen und interaurale Unterschiede hoch effizient verarbeitet werden. Mit der Anwendung eines physikalisch orientierten, nichtlinearen und aktiven Modells der Cochlea wurde die Basis geschaffen, die Beiträge mechanischer und neuronaler Verarbeitungsstufen zur Analyse komplexer akustischer Umgebungen zu trennen.

Kaufoptionen
print:35.50 EUR 
Exemplar(e)

eBook*:34.50 EUR
eBundle*45.50 EUR
(innerhalb Deutschlands)
49.50 EUR
(außerhalb Deutschlands)

Bei Interesse an Multiuser- oder Campus-Lizenzen (MyLibrary) füllen Sie bitte das Formular aus oder schreiben Sie eine email an order@logos-verlag.de

*Sie können das eBook (PDF) entweder einzeln herunterladen oder in Kombination mit dem gedruckten Buch (eBundle) erwerben. Der Erwerb beider Optionen wird über PayPal abgerechnet - zur Nutzung muss aber kein PayPal-Account angelegt werden. Mit dem Erwerb des eBooks bzw. eBundles akzeptieren Sie unsere Lizenzbedingungen für eBooks.


Wollen auch Sie Ihre Dissertation veröffentlichen?